A 9-link post

Isn’t been a while, hasn’t it? It’s been nearly 3 weeks since my last post, as I’ve been swamped with midterms and homework and the usual back-log of thesis work. But don’t worry, my bookmarks folder has been filling up at a fast pace and I’ve decided to finally sit down and share some of these links. They’re not the usual plethora of music videos I usually choose to talk about (but I’ve got a post planned for that soon). Regardless, I think you’ll find something you like.

1. Waveforms as bracelets

The Sound Advice Project offers bracelets representing the waveform of whatever six second message you like. They cost $18 each, and I think they’re a really unique and interesting gift idea. Details at The Sound Advice Project.

2. Flying car now a reality

That’s right — a car that flies. The Terrafugia Transition holds two passengers and runs on unleaded gasoline. And it can transform itself from car to plane in approximately 30 seconds. Want one? You’ll have to wait until 2011. And you’ll have to be ready to pay about $194,000. [more]

3. Make a bulletin board from wine corks

I had heard of this idea when I was studying abroad in Italy, so I started saving up my wine corks. It’s a great idea, and you can really class it up and make it fun depending on what type of frame you decide to use. Find out more here.

4. Pi symbol ice cube trays

I’m a little late for Pi Day this year (March 14th), but it’s never too early to start planning for next year! This tray from Think Geek creates Pi-shaped ice cubes. What could be more perfect?

5. The Lost Generation

This was forwarded to me by my older brother, Nate. I’ve often felt frustrated by the apathy and lack of concern for the environment that my generation is becoming known for, so I found this really inspiring. Make sure you watch the whole way through.

6. What’s your walk score?

A recent post on the NYT blog Freakonomics highlighted a website called Walk Score, which gauges how pedestrian-friendly your location is. My home address scored a 2 out of 100, a very “car-dependent” rating. But my college address scored an 89 out of 100 – a “very walkable” rating. What’s your rating?

7. Birthday calculator

I’ve seen these websites before, and this one has the usual life path number, Chinese new year, and birthday stone, flower and tree. But this calculator includes a ton of interesting facts like which Egyptian month you were born in, when Easter was in your birth year, your age in dog years, and how many ounces of water your birthday candles could boil (I’ll have 22 candles on my next birthday, producing 22 BTUs and boiling 2.51 ounces of water).

8. Little Red Riding Hood — as an animated infographic

SlagsmĂ„lsklubben – Sponsored by destiny from Tomas Nilsson on Vimeo.

The website Flowing Data features different ways of displaying information and data, and today they’re featuring someone who decided to take those types of infographs and use them to tell the story of Little Red Riding Hood. It’s a really unique way to tell a story, and I think it’s worth checking out.

9. Earth Hour: this Saturday!

This Saturday, from 8:30 to 9:30 pm, a host of important landmarks, including the Empire State Building, will participating in Earth Hour, in which they turn off their bright night lights. This event is designed to draw more attention to the issue of climate change. Over 1,000 cities have committed to doing the same, each in their own respective time zones, so that the event will start in Fiji and roll around the globe as the day progresses. Google’s even joining in by turning its display colors black in recognition of the event.

One response to “A 9-link post

  1. Jess has made a cork bulletin board before, i think….

Leave a Reply

