Lake District floods

Right now, part of England is dealing with some severe flooding from recent heavy rains. They’ve had over 13 inches of rain in a 24-hour period, which is a record for Britain. When I was studying abroad, I spent a weekend at the Lake District. I spent most of my time in Keswick, while the worst flooding seems to have happened in Cockermouth and Kendal — but I did notice some pictures from Ambleside that looked familiar. (We had lunch in Ambleside on our drive back to Leeds.) My pictures are on the right, and the ones I found from the BBC are on the left.

Windermere at Ambleside (more about the 11-mile lake)

Left: via BBC / Right: my photo on Picasa

Stockghyll Waterfall in Ambleside

Left: via BBC / Right: my photo on Picasa

More photos of the flooding in Cumbria can be found here.

Leave a Reply

